Tuesday, November 15, 2016

The 2017 Obermann Graduate Institute on Engagement and the Academy will meet from January 9-13, 2017. The group of 16 students were selected from a competitive pool representing five colleges and in disciplines ranging from Library and Information Science to Community and Behavioral Health.

Now in its eleventh year, the Graduate Institute offers a competitively selected group of UI graduate students an opportunity to explore how civic engagement can enhance teaching, research, and creative work. It is also a rare opportunity for students to share ideas and experiences with peers they would not otherwise meet. This year's Institute is co-directed by Jennifer Kayle (Dance, CLAS) and Tricia Zebrowski (Communication Sciences & Disorders, CLAS), with assistance from Graduate Senior Fellows Diane Williams (American Studies and GWSS, CLAS) and  Heidi Renée Aijala (English, CLAS). 

Collaboration and Grant Opportunities with Johnson Co. Historic Poor Farm

A visit to the Johnson County Historic Poor Farm and an opportunity to propose projects to the leaders of that site will anchor the week. "We feel very fortunate to be partnering with Johnson County and Shanti Sellz, local food and planning specialist, for a second year," says Jennifer New, associate director of the Obermann Center. "They are in the early stages of developing this site and there are so many directions that students could imagine and eventually undertake projects with community partners. It's a special opportunity to put one's ideas into actions quickly." For the first time ever, Obermann Graduate Fellows, including Fellows from previous Institute classes who are current UI students, will have an opportunity to apply for grants from the Office of Outreach and Engagement that will support collaborative projects sited at the Poor Farm.

2017 Obermann Graduate Fellows

  • DaVida Anderson, Higher Education & Student Affairs (Education)
  • Dellyssa Edinboro, Education Policy & Leadership (Education)
  • Jesse Factor, Dance (CLAS)
  • Corey Hickner-Johnson, English (CLAS)
  • Danielle Kennedy, English (CLAS)
  • Melissa Kreider, Art & Art History (CLAS)
  • Katheryn Lawson, Library & Information Science (Graduate College)
  • Lauren Pass, Community & Behavioral Health (Public Health)
  • Subin Paul, Journalism & Mass Communication (CLAS)
  • Michael Ritter, Political Science (CLAS)
  • Audrey Scranton, Communication Studies (CLAS)
  • Emily Seiple, Urgan & Regional Planning (Graduate College)
  • Christopher Taylor, Library & Information Science (CLAS)
  • Joy Woods, Health Policy (Public Health)